Last updated 1:46 PM on 8 May 2017

As part of the Premier's Debating Challenge, the Armidale High School Year 9 and Year 10 debating teams participated in a Round 1 debate last Monday in the school library.

In a close debate, both teams debated well the proposition that NAPLAN testing should be banned. However, the winning team from Year 10 presented a very compelling Negative case that NAPLAN should not be banned. Both teams will next debate Farrer Memorial High School from Tamworth and will have one more opportunity to debate each other in this round of the competition.

Murray Cox from Newling Public school who was the adjudicator; both teams benefiting  from his insights and suggestions which will serve them well in future debates in the NSW competiton. Thanks also to Ms Partridge and Mr Bugden for their organisation and support.

The Year 10 team included: Riley Doak, Ben Ridges, Jesse Streeting, Challa Gow.

The Year 9 team comprised: Olive Tutt, Juliet Knuckey, Stephanie Hancock and Elizabeth Zemlyanoy.